Still Back at the ol’ Drawing Board

A motto created by my students

Who ever coined the phrase “Back to the Drawing Board” must have been an educator.  Back in August, I wrote about reinventing myself as a band director and reshaping my program.  Well, it has been a long process, and what I hae learned is that I have not reshaped my program, but evolved with it.  A music program is like a living, breathing organism.  It like an ensemble unto itself. I have seen tremendous maturation occur so far this year, and have struggled to keep up.

This year, I have begun the great adventure of trying to be both band director and choir director.  It is one of the hardest things I have ever done.  The simple task of trying to transition between the two disciplines is mind-bending.  Fortunately, I have wonderful students who are doing a fairly good job of keeping this year in perspective and understanding that there are adjustments happening for everyone.  The learning curve has been very steep this year.

I think the most helpful change I have made this year is keeping a journal every day.  I reflect on everything from encounters with students to how a particular lesson went.  I started doing this for several reasons, among them was to gather the type of material that would be good for this blog and helpful to others.  So, going forward, I plan to share with you some of the most inspiring and insightful among my adventures this year so far.

1 Comment

  1. Cary said,

    February 22, 2010 at 4:13 am

    An excellent goal! I have been reflecting lately on how much my ability (or lack thereof) to play every instrument has, perhaps, the second greatest effect on learning in beginning band (the single greatest effect comes from keeping students excited and motivated).
    If your university has a class in instrument repair, taking it would be a great way to play-test a variety of instruments and also learn the basic fixes that will keep your future students playing….and undoubtedly save tears on the day of concert/contest!


Leave a Reply

