Back to the Drawing Board

As another year begins, I am always reflective on two things:  how short the summer was, and how can I improve the beginning of the year.

As you may or may not know (depending on whether you are a teacher or not) the beginning of the year is a critical point.  It determines how the rest of your year will commence.  I have decided to do less FOR the students, and put more pressure on them to stay organized.  In the past I have spoon fed every thing to them so they all start off with everything they could possible need to be prepared.  I found that this just makes them dependant on me for the entire year.  This year they buy there own flip folders, organize their own pep band tunes, and makes sure they buy a lyre that works. 

I have also been handed the choir program at my school, so this summer has been a flurry of reorganizing what I have to accommodate a new rehearsal strategy and the new needs of the students (they also took the choir room away).  I am choosing to try and see the bright side of all of this.  Yes, it is going to be difficult to balance out the needs of two distinct programs.  It will also be hard to find the choir director in me, but it will also force me to stretch as an educator.  It will provide an opportunity to model a cool head in a difficult situation of my students, and afford me some level of achievement for future job opportunities. 

Now, on to future articles.  I am currently working on drafts of several articles for the blog that feature the use of technology that I have either tried and failed at, or used to great success.  I will also talk about some articles I have read recently about classroom management, and constructivism in the music classroom.  Back to the grind stone!

2 Comments

  1. sleepygirl said,

    August 24, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Good luck this year, especially with the choir. 🙂

  2. Stengel99 said,

    September 19, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Best wishes for a good year. Good luck with the choir. I don’t envy you!

    I hear what you’re saying regarding spoon feeding the students. Sometimes it’s hard to decide what the students should be responsible for and what you need to do for them to make sure the job gets done. When you figure that out, let me know.


Leave a Reply

