Time to reflect…

Now that I have had some time to reflect on the conference and state of my own program, it seems that getting back to work can’t come soon enough! I found myself wanting to leave each session early to get started on all of the ideas I had while sitting there. Here are some of the things that I have started already:

1. Written warm ups and tuning exercises that help the students not only tune, but play intervals in tune (tuning by interval numbers – more on this later)

2. Putting together an “Activity Packet” to send the kids during the school year, consisting of warm ups, rhythmic activities, composition lessons, and other things they will need to have on the first day of school next year;

3. Revising the Band Handbook to reflect changes in grading policies and expectations;

4. Coming up with a plan for recruiting at the middles school

Fortunately for me, I have a week off to try and get this all done. Some of you had to go back to work today or maybe tomorrow! I assure you that there will not be much time for me to just sit around. I also plan to get back to school a day early to re-inventory all of my instruments…e still my beating heart!

I will hopefully see more activity on this page. We told a bunch of people about it at the conference, and they all seemed pretty pumped. We are also learning more about what kind of formats will best serve our collaboration needs. One note on the name of the blog: Bandguys refers to Mike and I, as we are the moderators of the blog page. This is not an attempt to alienate female band directors! All directors are welcome!!!!

2 Comments

  1. Michelle Maury said,

    February 19, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Federal Way goes back Wednesday. Yesterday, I went straight to my office to get some work done. I too am excited to revise my band handbook. I was also really inspired by the creating student leaders workshop. One of the comments that hit particularly hard was the question: “What in my day do I do that does not require a degree in Music Education?” With any luck, I will be able to be more effective by granting some of the responsibility for things like filing music to students and volunteers. After a conference like this, I find myself inspired and ready to change the world one note at a time. Thanks for the blog!
    -Michelle

  2. tjweller said,

    February 29, 2008 at 3:41 am

    The wonderful part about conferences is the way in which they motivate us to go back and examine our own teaching, and ways in which we could make improvements. It can be frustrating to want to try and do everything at once – for ourselves and the students alike. Patience with ourselves is of prime importance as we implement new ideas, revise existing ones, and ponder what ideas could work in our existing program. My experience thus far as Music Ed Blogger, is that this process has also made me ponder and reflect what can I change, why should I change, and when I should make the change. Thank you for sharing this important reminder and the value of clinics and conferences!


Leave a Reply

